tim welbourne

Autumn Colours

In Day to Day, My work, Uncategorized on October 8, 2016 at 10:56

 

I have, by accident bought the wrong clay, toasted instead of special fleck toasted. I threw two bags of it just to see what the outcomes would look like. Toasted is a much browner clay than I like and it has no resistance or fine grog in it. I found it very difficult to get it to support the technique I use to throw. A lot of squelching and collapsing followed by reclaim. The maximum firing temperature is 1250 so the glazes are slightly effected by the lower temperature. Still some interesting outcomes reflecting the change in season in the fields and hedgerows.

Its all gone back now.

Happy potting.

fullsizeoutput_27f8fullsizeoutput_27fdfullsizeoutput_27fcfullsizeoutput_27fffullsizeoutput_2803fullsizeoutput_280bfullsizeoutput_280efullsizeoutput_2814fullsizeoutput_2817

Leave a comment