tim welbourne

Results from the Last two Firings for CALM

In Experiementing, My work on May 7, 2016 at 18:19

I fired the kiln last night, the second firing in a sequence of experiments I have been working on using different clay bodies and combination of slips and glazes working over each other.

I have taken on board the comments  about my colour pallet, which boils down to, ‘brown (tenmoku) just don’t do it for a lot of people who want to buy pots’.

Spraying the glazes in multiple layers seems to have achieved one of the outcomes I desire which is a gradation or blending, allowing the surface to become more unpredictable.

The cooling cycle I think is helping develop the colours and gives the greater depth, something to do with the way the chemicals crystallize  on the way down.

I am amazed that all the lids fit!!

The two tall bottles are just a bit of fun, part thrown, part coiled I just wanted to see how tall I could get, they worked out at kiln max height.

All these pots are going into a charity fund raiser, I call it ‘Pot Aid’,  if you see anything you like give generously to the good cause, you get the pot for free.

https://www.thecalmzone.net/

CALM

DSC_4480DSC_4481DSC_4482DSC_4483DSC_4484DSC_4485DSC_4486

Leave a comment