tim welbourne

Composite Throwing and Surface Texture

In Courses, My work on October 28, 2012 at 09:06

I made this 10 lb. pot in two sections, a 4 lb. bottomless ring and a 6 lb. cylinder with a base. I joined the smaller ring onto the larger shape and re-threw the joined pot.

For a long time I have striven to achieve perfectly smooth symmetrical shapes, I am beginning to understand now how this attempt at perfection is denying the fundamental nature of clay. It is plastic, prone to do its own thing and that after you have made a shape and its still on the wheel you have the opportunity to work the shape and use texture as a way of allowing the glaze to run and catch on the surface of the form. I used a steak tenderising hammer I bought for 50p in Totnes to get the diagonal pattern and a wheel on a stick I made from the remains of a drawing board for the banding ring. Both techniques I saw demonstarted by Mark Griffiths during the summer.

My sister brought me a set of ‘Mud Tools’ for my birthday, I used them for the first time throwing this shape, very effective, thank you Judy.

Leave a comment