tim welbourne

Wonky Pots and Porcelain Slip

In Courses, My work on May 29, 2012 at 22:00

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They’re kind of cute and definitely worth saving and doing something with. Yes, the porcelain slip made the pots super soft and guess what they collapsed very slowly and with gently, sinking ship grace. Nothing ventured nothing gained! Its was the penultimate session tonight and looking back I have learnt a lot. Throwing has definitely improved and that journey into the upper highlands of aesthetic and purity of form is well underway. Lightness and a narrow foot, are my current focus. The problems I have had with the clay I’ve used to throw in the garage has continued. The pots I put through electric non reduction firing have continued, blistering and bubbling all over.  They are going into the bin. I have brought four bags of B17C to keep me throwing during the summer. The few pots that came out of bisque tonight I am going to raku. Dan has no problem with me firing the pot he made in the master class, slip resist and wait and see. Happy potting.

Leave a comment