tim welbourne

Tiny People, Porcelain and a Master-class in Throwing

In Courses, Interesting Images on May 23, 2012 at 21:31

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This week has been a double session so I have achieved a lot. I had previously agreed with Dan that he would allow me to video his hands throwing porcelain, so I bought one of those three legged flexible tripods and and away we went. I am still working on it but you can see the narrow necked bottle that he made. I finished it by turning it during tonights session. I will post it as soon as its finished. His throwing is staggering, such fluidity in the clay as he works it. I love the narrow neck and slightly raised shoulder, a shape that I have tried to develop in the shapes I have thrown this evening. The white lidded pot is covered in a rough coat of porcelain ship which I dragged across the pot using my fingers, interesting finish. I glazed a lot last night using a new wood-ash, 35% ash and my own tenmoku tried and tested.  This set of pots are going into the electric kiln as I used the same clay body as the one that blistered in the reduction firing. I don’t want to run the risk of another bin full of pots. The little man has stood on the hugh tile cutting machine outside the ceramics studio for two days now, I wonder who put him there?

Planning a night raku firing this weekend weather permitting, I have used slip resist on several of the piece, it will be interesting to see how they come out.

Leave a comment